Photo-Realistic Watch

 

 

In this project my goal was to make a photo-realistic watch.

I started with a watch I own to base it on and did a bunch of sketches.

IMG_20161018_203727440.jpg

I drew the watch flat, like I ended up designing it in Illustrator, but to grasp the watch as a whole more, I drew from the side and different angles so I knew this watch from all sides. I feel like this helped me add all the layers I needed and figure out my shadows and highlights better.

Then came the process of transferring the design to the computer.

I had to work a bit more on the glass with some glare and more shine, and adjust the dial just a bit. After making some changes and adding the bands, it looked like this:

timrusson_watch-02-01

Add a background, using some of the elements from the face, and this is what I ended up with:

Up close, the image is more obviously made on a computer, but when looking at the watch as a whole, it has a very convincing look.

Leave a Reply

